Canada’s Premier Motorsports Complex
Go back
World Of Outlaws Series at a Glance Castrol Raceway

World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series at a Glance

Castrol Raceway


EDMONTON, Alberta - Aug. 20, 2012 - The two hottest drivers on the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series are atop the championship standings heading into the final trip of the season to Canada.

Donny Schatz, who has won four of the last seven points events, trails championship leader Craig Dollansky by only 20 points entering the Oil City Cup - Friday and Saturday at Castrol Raceway.

Six different drivers have won a World of Outlaws event at the 3/8-mile track, including Schatz. Joey Saldana and Jason Meyers each have a series-leading three victories at Castrol Raceway.


Friday and Saturday, Aug. 24-25, at Castrol Raceway in Edmonton, Alberta, for the Oil City Cup. The front gate is scheduled to open at 4 p.m. with racing at approximately 6 p.m. each night.


Castrol Raceway is located at Highway 19 & Highway 2 in Edmonton, Alberta. Click on the link for a map to the track (


Tickets for the Oil City Cup can be ordered by clicking


World of Outlaws -

Castrol Raceway -

Dirt Radio Network -


Castrol Raceway is semi-banked, 3/8-mile oval. The track record of 12.561 seconds was established by Jason Meyers on Aug. 27, 2011.


World of Outlaws A-Feature Winners at Castrol Raceway:

2011 - Jason Meyers on Aug. 26, Cody Darrah on Aug. 27

2010 - Jason Meyers on Aug. 27, Joey Saldana on Aug. 28

2009 - Joey Saldana on Aug. 28, Joey Saldana on Aug. 29

2008 - Jac Haudenschild on Aug. 22, Jason Meyers on Aug. 23

2007 - Steve Kinser on Aug. 17, Donny Schatz on Aug. 19


Castrol Raceway is a 3/8-mile track. There have been 13 World of Outlaws features on a track that size this season. The winners are: Donny Schatz - 2 (Nodak Speedway on Aug. 19 and Junction Motor Speedway on Aug. 14); Danny Dietrich - 1 (Lincoln Speedway on May 10); Mark Dobmeier - 1 (Huset's Speedway on July 3); Craig Dollansky - 1 (I-96 Speedway on June 2); Tim Kaeding - 1 (Cedar Lake Speedway on July 6); Chad Kemenah - 1 (Lawrenceburg Speedway on May 28); Kraig Kinser - 1 (Dodge City Raceway Park on June 23); Steve Kinser - 1 (Dodge City Raceway Park on June 22); Joey Saldana - 1 (Paducah International Speedway on April 13); Tony Stewart - 1 (Ohsweken Speedway on July 31); Brad Sweet - 1 (Clay County Fairgrounds on June 8) and Sammy Swindell - 1 (Red River Valley Speedway on June 16).